Deccan Sultanates – IAS Synopsis

Excerpt/ Sample:

The term Deccan Sultanate is used to refer to the five late-medieval kingdoms—on the Deccan Plateau between the Krishna River and the Vindhya Range—that were ruled by Muslim dynasties: namely Ahmadnagar, Berar, Bidar, Bijapur, and Golconda.

Although the five sultanates were all ruled by Muslims, their founders were not necessarily Muslim : the Ahmadnagar Sultanate was of Hindu-Brahmin origins; the Berar Sultanate was founded by a Kanarese-Hindu convert; the Bidar Sultanate was founded by a Georgian slave; the Bijapur Sultanate was founded by a Georgian slave purchased by Mahmud Gawan; and the Golconda Sultanate was of Turkmen origin.



To download all synopses for free, buy our annual membership product
(BEST VALUE OFFER – Download all synopses for free)

OR buy individual synopsis.

500 Synopses to be uploaded before May 2022 – Quick Synopses for Revision/ UPSC Prelims & Mains Preparation.

© IAS Synopsis


Prelims / Mains?

, ,

UPSC Mains Paper